R6tacho conversion

Forum rules
Please can you post items for sale or wanted in the correct For Sale section. Items / bikes for sale here will be removed without warning. Reasons for this are in the FAQ. Thanks
Post Reply
Grandadbelly
Settled in member
Reactions:
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:55 am
R6tacho conversion

Post by Grandadbelly » Fri Aug 30, 2019 3:10 pm

Hi evil it’s the original thunder cat tci. and yes the tps is connected I don’t know what the previous owner has or has not done to it I am flying blind as there are not many thunder cats here in Australia some one suggested that it may need a diode between the tachometer wire from the tci igniter unit and the tachometer it’s self I’ll give it a try it can’t hurt
It’s about the only thing I haven’t done I know the r6 tachometer and speedo works as I have a 3en1with a 3he 600 motor fitted but the loom on the thunder at is a fair bit diffent

Evilchicken0
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 9419
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:59 pm
Bike owned: Bimota SB6 Yamaha FZR 3TJ x2
Location: Lundin Taan
Re: R6tacho conversion

Post by Evilchicken0 » Sat Aug 31, 2019 11:53 pm

Hmmm ... see how it goes. I'm doing a similar conversion but used the 4JH cdi so I didnt need the TPS .

LiteTekBlair
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:10 pm
Bike owned: MC22, 3TJ1
Location: Thailand
Contact:
Re: R6tacho conversion

Post by LiteTekBlair » Mon Sep 02, 2019 1:34 am

To fit an R6 to my 400 I needed a divide-by-two gizmo see here https://litetek.co/R4/Guide_R4_InstrumentCluster.html
Carb seal kits in viton & other parts
https://litetek.co


Post Reply