NC23 Rebuild and Restore NZ First Project Bike

This section is reserved for members on the SITE SUPPORTERS group only. Each supporter can post pics of their bikes for all to view. Standard members can read and reply, but the post author has full control over his thread and can edit, delete & lock at will
NZeeeee11
Settled in member
Reactions:
NC23 Rebuild and Restore NZ First Project Bike

Post by NZeeeee11 » Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:40 pm

Hello Everyone,

I finally have a 400 Jap bike so I decided to start document my build. I have some mechanical experience with mostly cars, timing belts, suspension work, brakes etc but am no means an expert and by starting this thread I will hope that I able to learn from others experiences and skills.

As of a week ago I'm the proud owner of two NC23 CBR400RR's. As I am in New Zealand, one of the bike's registration is on hold and the other bike is deregistered. The current state of these bike is average, they have been stored in a garage and have very little oxidation except for the top sub-frame which for both bikes has minor surface rust. I haven't seen the engine's running but have been told the last time they were run was around a year ago, all ports have been shut off in order to keep debris out and other things out.

The bike that is able to be registered back onto the road is currently disassembled. The other bike, which is deregistered almost complete with only the tank/fairings and brakes not connected. Fairings are as they are, most of them are cracked or the paint peeling pretty bad if not scraped. My thoughts are to try and source a decent set of fairings or to repair with fibreglass the broken fairings to restore them to their original glory.

Unfortunately I am away for two weeks so I will be unable to work on the bikes, but I might order a few things or plan the best way go about the entire project. As of now I have a few tasks I would like to tackle....