gk73a air box question

Forum rules
Please can you post items for sale or wanted in the correct For Sale section. Items / bikes for sale here will be removed without warning. Reasons for this are in the FAQ. Thanks
DirtMcGirt
Settled in member
Reactions:
Bike owned: GK73A
gk73a air box question

Post by DirtMcGirt » Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:01 pm

I am a newbie mechanic, also to riding. I was able to purchase a gk73a model bike which I am trying to fix up a bit. When I purchased the bike two of the carb diaphragm caps were cracked and I believed leaking fuel into the air box. I realize the carbs are in pretty bad shape and boggy around 2nd to 3rd gear. I completely removed the airbox and I would like to put pod filters on each carb. Question - where does the hose go that was running to the top of the airbox? it seems to spew quite a bit of fuel? Do I put a cap on it or what?

cdegk73a
Settled in member
Reactions:
Re: gk73a air box question

Post by cdegk73a » Sat Mar 09, 2013 9:57 pm

Maybe this will help a little.. Pretty sure these are right. The carb overflow and airbox overflow pipe just vent to atmosphere.. they just tuck down the back of the air box.. and exit at the bottom of the bike.

DirtMcGirt
Settled in member
Reactions:

Post by DirtMcGirt » Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:34 pm

thanks so much that helps out a lot. I seem to be missing a lot!
My airbox has no hoses or anything in it, just the plastic box :(

Here is a picture of my setup. Is it possible for you to tell me where I should direct the hose I have circled? and also what I should do with the female nipple I have circled also?

Thank you so much for your help!

cdegk73a
Settled in member
Reactions:

Post by cdegk73a » Sat Mar 09, 2013 11:09 pm