Site HomeAbout 400GreyBikeBuyers GuidesDocument LibraryIt is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:24 pm


NC23E in NC39 frame

Forum rules Please can you post items for sale or wanted in the correct For Sale section. Items / bikes for sale here will be removed without warning. Reasons for this are in the FAQ. Thanks
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

BlueTec

Settled in member

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:23 pm
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland

NC23E in NC39 frame

PostFri Sep 05, 2008 10:32 pm

Hi everybody,
I have just joined the forum.
I recently bought an SF2 Hypertec, 2002 vintage.
The engine code is NC23E, the frame code is NC39.
I am currently trying to locate a restrictor kit for the bike.
F1 International have a kit for the CB400 NC31 only.
They also appear to have a kit for NC23 (CBR400).
From a previous topic, am I correct in thinking that NC23E and NC31 are technically the same, and that the F1 kit for NC31 should be suitable for NC23E ?

Any help or suggestions welcome.
Offline

DerSchlang

Settled in member

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 8:49 pm
  • Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: NC23E in NC39 frame

PostTue Sep 16, 2008 8:38 pm

A kit? What for?
You only need to connect 2 wires near speedometer!
Offline

BlueTec

Settled in member

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:23 pm
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: NC23E in NC39 frame

PostFri Oct 17, 2008 9:34 pm

Thanks for the reply.
I just logged in again today.
Could you tell me which two wires to connect?
I don't have a wiring diagram for the bike or a service manual and it would be useful to understand the electrical system layout before trying anything.

At some stage I might attempt to "reverse engineer" the electrical system, using a multimeter to map it out. I reckon it could be similar to the CB500.
Offline

superfourben

Settled in member

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 10:45 pm
  • Location: Brighton & Hove

Re: NC23E in NC39 frame

PostSat Oct 18, 2008 1:06 am

Bit of confusion, you want to restirct the bike to 33bhp...yeah? This can only be done by putting the washers into the carbs and getting the certificate to say so... which is a restrictor kit. What der schlang is talking about is the inbuilt restricter that stops the bike doing above 180kph which is inbuilt into the bike in Japan. This can be bypassed very simply with a certain restricter across two of the wires in the clocks that I can't remember. :)
Offline

BlueTec

Settled in member

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:23 pm
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: NC23E in NC39 frame

PostSat Oct 18, 2008 6:54 pm

Yes, I want to restrict the engine power output to 33bhp. I don't want to bypass the inbuilt restrictor.
I understand the procedure for doing the mechanical restriction, as you have outlined...
I have spoken to F1, and alas they don't supply a kit for the NC39. posting.php?mode=reply&f=32&t=3449#
:( (in case you're wondering, my bike is a HyperVtec Spec II, manufactured 2002)

I suppose I should say that when I bought the bike a few months ago I didn't check first of all to see if a restrictor kit is available. F1 can supply a kit for the NC31 (pre 1999) but not for NC39. posting.php?mode=reply&f=32&t=3449#
:oops:
Offline

superfourben

Settled in member

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 10:45 pm
  • Location: Brighton & Hove

Re: NC23E in NC39 frame

PostSat Oct 18, 2008 10:07 pm

As a starter, have you tried contacting worlds end motorcycles www.wemoto.com who may know of a different supplier for a restrictor kit, alternatively Graeme France who is a member here and is quite well known might be able to point you in the right direction.
Offline

BlueTec

Settled in member

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:23 pm
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: NC23E in NC39 frame

PostTue Oct 21, 2008 12:37 am

Thanks for your help.
8-)
Offline

poshman1

Settled in member

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 5:03 pm

Re: NC23E in NC39 frame

PostTue Oct 21, 2008 5:43 pm

I had the same thing when i bought my vtec spec superfour. As far as im aware there is no way of restricting this bike because of the nature of the vtec. So just rode for 6 months on an invisable restictor untill my . Insurance might be funny with you if you have a smash. Most people i know put restrictors in take them out anyway. Good luck

Return to Superfour - Workshop

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 28hodge and 1 guest