NC23 Top speed issue on cb400sf

Forum rules
Please can you post items for sale or wanted in the correct For Sale section. Items / bikes for sale here will be removed without warning. Reasons for this are in the FAQ. Thanks
unkul79
Settled in member
Reactions:
NC23 Top speed issue on cb400sf

Post by unkul79 » Sun Apr 12, 2020 5:10 pm

Hi All

Any advice is welcomed as im at a loss and i feel like i've tried all of the options. First a bit of background. I'm no engineer or mechanic but am a willing amateur and like to get my hands dirty. A couple of years ago i bought a project cb400sf on a J (92) reg. The bike was running and i had little knowledge at the time about the model. The plan was to Streetfigher/Cafe it which i've done and i love the look and where its heading (WIP image below if anyone is interested). However since i've had it it had no working clocks (speedo). I've added an aftermarket Koso that i'm happy with and i'm pretty sure i've got it all running as it should. Its been on the road since late last summer and this is where my issue started. It appears to Rev up to about 14000 revs (is this correct as im guessing the tach is working correctly from experience but without reference?) It pulls ok in all gears but the top speed is woeful. Regular cruising on town streets is all done in 5th/6th and the top speed is 65mph max meaning i can't really use it safely on a motorway. I cant understand why to top speed would be so low. It does have pod filters and an aftermarket exhaust but runs and idles pretty sweet. I'm not looking for ton up but id like to think that the engine should be able to pull to 80 even with my heavy ass on it. As mentioned i think it pulls well too, just runs out of revs really quickly. I haven't dyno'ed it yet due to lockdown (plan was to get it done in April). Does anyone have any ideas? Bit of extra info that might help inform you a bit. The engine is an n23 (image below). I have tried the resistor mod (although cannot be sure its