Some carb questions

Forum rules
Please can you post items for sale or wanted in the correct For Sale section. Items / bikes for sale here will be removed without warning. Reasons for this are in the FAQ. Thanks
oliherst
Settled in member
Reactions:
Some carb questions

Post by oliherst » Sat Jul 05, 2008 6:43 pm

I have just removed the carbs from my bike as I need to replace the rubbers. Whilst I have them off, what else should I do?

I have little to no knowledge of how carbs work but I have a haynes manual and I like getting hands on.

I would like to check that everything is as it should be with regards to jet sizes and everything else carb related. I have borrowed a friends carbtune and will sync them when I'm done.

Also, should my NC30 have a 'close' cable for the throttle, the haynes manual says it should but mine doesn't. It doesn't even have the facility to take one. Is that something usually seen on an import model?

Sorry for all the noob questions :roll:

Jon
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Reactions:
Re: Some carb questions

Post by Jon » Sat Jul 05, 2008 7:27 pm

Hard to say on the jetting without knowing a bit more about the bikes other mods, exhaust ect.

Take the float bowls off and give them a good clean and check the float heights (make sure that the needles and seats go back in the original carbies.

On the old forum Viper had an article about drilling the airholes in the slides to mae them open a bit quicker and putting an extra washer under the needles to make the mid range a bit richer.

As far as I know all NC30s had twin throttle cables, when you say yours doesn't have provision for them is there not a second secondholewhere the throttle cable hooks onto the carbies and also on the the housing on the twist grip?
A lot of people run without them, I like the ability of beng able to apply closing pressure if something gets a sticky in the return side.

regards
jon
Honda NC30
Ducati 900 S2 (under constrcution)
Moto Guzzi Le Mans III