Information Honda Vfr400 nc30 Cdi/ignitor box

A place to bang on about subjects close to your heart that affect us all as 400cc riders. general banter is rife, however rudeness and abuse seem to be the norm, If a bit wet round the ears best go play elsewhere. Auto pruning of items 31 days and older
Post Reply
SpyVFR
Settled in member
Reactions:
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:19 pm
Information Honda Vfr400 nc30 Cdi/ignitor box

Post by SpyVFR » Fri Sep 27, 2019 1:16 pm

Good afternoon friend, I have a doubt if there is an unlocked Genuine Cdi / ignitor box? If so where can I buy an unlocked original cdi?

Thank you for your willingness.

User avatar
CMSMJ1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 9578
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 9:42 am
Bike owned: NC30-No9, NC27
Location: Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Re: Information Honda Vfr400 nc30 Cdi/ignitor box

Post by CMSMJ1 » Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:56 am

There is no genuine "unlocked" CDI.

There is HRC CDI for NC30 - you have very little chance for one of these

You can buy an Ignitech via Rick Oliver with an HRC map.

Do not buy a Chinese "unlocked" CDI unless you want to find out what a lack of rev limiter does for your valvetrain... :)
IMPERATOR REX ANGLORUM

The V4 is the law..

NC30 - No9 > My old mate
2005 ZX10 C1H - smashed it to death @Jerez :(
NC30 - Trackbike...again :)

SpyVFR
Settled in member
Reactions:
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:19 pm
Re: Information Honda Vfr400 nc30 Cdi/ignitor box

Post by SpyVFR » Fri Oct 04, 2019 11:38 am

Strange, I swore I had a genuine unlocked, my cousin has a vfr400 nc30 imported from japan all origin (counter per mile per hour) and has a genuine cdi and reaches 230 km / h ... as is possible!?? sorry for my ignorance

User avatar
gavins
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 1:45 pm
Bike owned: NC30, ER6f, K5 750
Location: Worthing, West Sussex
Re: Information Honda Vfr400 nc30 Cdi/ignitor box

Post by gavins » Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:44 am

The speed restriction can easily be bypassed with a 2.2k resistor, an aftermarket plug in module or a bit of fiddling with the speedo. A forum search should give you full details on what to do.


Post Reply